Egypt Travel LinkEgypt Travel Link
Forgot password?

Activities in Islamic Egypt

Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo Egypt Alabaster mosque Cairo Egypt

Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo Egypt

Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo Egypt information, tours, prices, booking

Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo is the most popular Islamic mosque among tourists. Moreover, it is one of the most ancient mosques in Cairo. The mosque is also one of the most historic mosques because of its grandeur and its location in Saladin Citadel. In fact, Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo also sometimes referred to as the Alabaster Mosque Cairo. This is because of its extensive use of marble on some of the exterior walls and other surfaces. Muhammad Ali Mosque Cairo is the largest such structure built during the first half of the 19th century. It is more impressive at a distance than close up. Its artistic merit is questionable. Furthermore, the mosque is an unparalleled contribution to the skyline of Cairo. It is visible high atop the Citadel grounds.

In fact, Muhammad Ali Mosque Cairo has a great dome and towering minarets. They give Cairo Citadel indeed a romantic and oriental quality. It makes up for any shortcomings in its detail. Muhammad Ali Mosque Cairo is the first feature which catches ones eyes at the fortress. Moreover, Muhammad Ali tore down the remains of Mamluk palaces and their dependencies. Mamluk palaces luckily described only a short time before by Napoleon’s scholars. They were the most impressive buildings in Cairo. It was despite of their condition which dilapidated . In fact, some ten meters of rubble filled in. It was to build the mosque on top of the preexisting structures. Muhammad Ali, who was more eager to build modern factories than religious foundations. In fact, he erected this mosque, where he buried, as a monument to himself.

Further details about Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo:

Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo is also an imperial mosque which challenged those of Istanbul. Salah al-Din, many centuries earlier, abolished all traces of Fatimid power and status. He refused to live in their palaces. Moreover, he dismantled and parceled them out to his courtiers. Muhammad Ali did the same. He destroyed all traces of the Mamluk palaces from Egypt. It was the reason that here no royal palace left from these periods in Egypt. In fact, Muhammad Ali was viceroy and king of Egypt, as well as the founder of Egypt’s modern era. He achieved a radical break with all traditional characteristics of Cairo architecture. It was from the Mamluk to the late Ottoman period. Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo became a symbol of the city. The mosque of Muhammad Ali is the most visible of Islamic monuments in Cairo.

Muhammad Ali acted of Istanbul. He came closer to that of Istanbul than ever before in the architecture style. It included even its Western, and particularly French, influence. He came close to take the Ottoman Empire as his own. Moreover, he set out in Cairo to abandon the oriental Middle Ages. He built a city that would surpass Istanbul. The planning of Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo assigned to Muhammad Ali’s French architect. He was Pascal Coste. Pascal Coste wanted to build the mosque in the local Mamluk style. Muhammad Ali changed his mind and hired a Greek architect, Yusuf Bushnaq. That was to design Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo on a plan like Sultan Ahmad mosque in Istanbul. In fact, Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo built between 1830 and 1848. The long time it took to complete may be due to its size.

More details about the mosque of Muhammad Ali Cairo:

Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo combined with its prominent location and its profile of domes. They flanked by a pair of slender high minarets, contribute to its prestige. The Egyptians themselves place a great deal of pride in this monument. Moreover, the pencil shaped minarets are over eighty meters high. They stand on bases only three meters wide. In fact, the architecture of Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo is Ottoman. The domes are relative to their width, higher and less squat than those in Istanbul. The complex consists of two parts. Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo proper to the east and the open courtyard (or Sahn) to the west. The plan of Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo is a central dome which carried on four piers. The spherical pendentives, flanked by four half-domes, and four smaller domes on each corner. There is also a dome that separates the Mihrab ceiling from the Qibla wall.

Measuring 41 meters square, the interior is impressive because of its size. It shows the wonderful arrangement of mass and space. It is characteristic of Istanbul Mosques. The main, high dome of Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo soars 52 meters high, with a diameter of 21 meters. The grandeur of this single, large chamber enhanced by the circle of small lamps. It hung in the middle of the praying area, and just above the main dome of the mosque. Other smaller lamps, many of them more modern, hung elsewhere in the mosque. They creating a spectacle of light that is grand in its own right. Within Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo are two minbars, or pulpits. The larger one of wood decorated with gilt ornament, and is original. It said to be one of the largest in Egypt, incorporating significant gold in its decorations.

Further details about Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo:

The smaller one of alabaster was a gift from King Faruq, dates back to 1939. The Mihrab, or prayer niche, made of Egyptian marble. Muhammad Ali not interred here. In fact, he buried at Housh el Basha. One of his successors, King Abbas I, had his body moved to this location. Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo has three entrances, on the north, west and east walls. The western entrance opens onto the courtyard. The courtyard surrounded by rounded arcades carrying small domes. It is like the Mosques of Sulayman Pasha and Malika Safiyya. These domes supported by large, though simple marble columns. The courtyard is almost square, measuring 54 by 53 meters. Moreover, the courtyard has a northern and southern entrance from the mosque.

In the middle of the courtyard is a marble ablution fountain. It features a carved wooden roof on columns. The fountain decorated in a style like that of the sabil-kuttab. In fact, it faces the madrasa of al-Nasir on Mu’izz street. That structure built by Ismail Pasha in 1828. The sabil and the upper part of the courtyard facade decorated with small oval wall paintings. On the west wall of the courtyard is an iron clock. It presented to Muhammad Ali by the French King Louis Philippe, with a tea salon on the upper level. Its style is a mixture of Neo-Gothic and oriental elements. In fact, it never worked, and never will. The clock, given as a gift in exchange for the obelisk now in the Palace de la Concorde, Paris. The decoration of the building is alien to Cairene traditions, and in fact, to Islamic art.

More details about the mosque of Muhammad Ali Cairo:

There are no stalactites, geometric shapes or arabesques. Only the inscription bands continue any type of Islamic tradition. Six large medallions around the dome enclose names. The names are God, Muhammad and the first four Khalifs. The script written over a royal blue. It often adorns windows in Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo. It actually represent verses from the poem, “Al Burda” which written by Imam al Buseiry. Even the marble chosen for decoration is different from that of earlier Mosques. The decorations which not finished until 1857, are at odds. They are with the simplicity of the architectural structure itself. Many tourists and Egyptians themselves find Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo decorations beautiful. The use of greens, golds and reds appealed to many.

The walls and piers of Muhammad Ali mosque Cairo paneled with alabaster. It is from Beni Suef in Upper Egypt. which is inappropriate for architecture as it deteriorates quickly. A gesture of baroque luxe, unless cleaned, the stone also becomes terribly grimy. In 1931 serious structural deviancy found in the dome. In fact, it had to rebuild. It took two years. Between 1937 and 1939 the decoration renewed. In the middle of the 1980, the whole Citadel complex once again renovated.

Nearby attractions Information, tours and Online Booking

More of Islamic Egypt

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
Khan El Khalili Cairo Egypt

Khan El Khalili Cairo Egypt

Khan El Khalili Cairo Egypt information, tours, prices, booking

Khan El Khalili Cairo Egypt, once known as the Turkish bazaar during the Ottoman period. In fact, it now usually just called the ‘Khan’. The names of it and the Muski market often used to mean either. Moreover, Khan El Khalili Cairo Egypt market built in 1382 by the Emir Djaharks El Khalili. It was in the heart of the Fatimid City. El Khalili Khan Cairo Egypt and Al Muski market to the west comprise one of Cairo’s most important shopping areas. They represent the market tradition which established Cairo as a major center of trade. At the Khan, one will still find foreign merchants. Moreover, the market involved in the spice monopoly controlled by the Mamluks. This encouraged the Europeans to search for new routes to the East. It led Columbus to discover the Americas.

Khan El Khalili Cairo Egypt was also a center for subversive groups to raids. It was before the Sultan El Ghouri rebuilt much of the area in the early 16th century. Moreover, it was trade which caused Cairo’s early wealth. It was even from the time of the Babylon fort which was often a settlement of traders. El Khalili Khan Cairo Egypt situated at one corner of a triangle of markets. These markets go south to Bab Zuweila and west to Azbakiyyah. Khan El Khalili Cairo bordered on the south by Al-Azhar Street and on the west by the Muski Market. In fact, Al Muski is one of the old original gates guards the entrance to the original courtyard. Moreover, it lies midway down Sikket al-Badistan (street).

Further details about Khan El Khalili Egypt Bazaars:

On a narrow street leading off Al Badistand, one will find El Fishawy cafe. It was once a meeting place for local artists. It frequented by the Nobel Award winning Naguib Mahfouz. He is one of Egypt’s most well known authors. There are any number of canvas which cover the streets such as the one pictured to the right. Egyptian buyers generally shop in the area north of Al-Badistan and to the west. It is where prices may be lower. Better deals for gold and silver found west of Kahn El Khalili. It is along the “street of the gold sellers”. It is also further on one will find the Brass and Coppersmith Markets. Khan El Khalili Cairo Egypt is a tourist trap. All manner of souvenirs may purchased there. It goes from statues to ‘personalized’ cartouches to papyrus art.

In fact, Khan El Khalili Cairo Egypt is the best place to buy souvenirs. This because Khan El Khalil Cairo Egypt is the best and cheapest place. One discovers that the Egyptians are here as well. They buying their fabrics and clothes, pots, and other ordinary household needs. Step into this world by heading west Muski street from Midan Hussein. Many of the shops for specific goods clustered along specific streets. They are also in specific areas. For example, there is the Coppersmith’s street. This is less true then most guide books would have one believe. Many shops, particularly those catering specifically to tourists have a variety of different products. The Medieval atmospheres of this market and the labyrinth layout of the streets gives a lot of pleasure.

More details about Khan El Khalili cafes:

Cafes, restaurants, shops, large number of vendors and buyers constitute a dynamic panorama of the place. In Khan El Khalili Cairo Egypt you can drinking Hibiscus, Karakare or Helba. There are many of the various typical Egyptian beverages is a pleasant experience. For smokers, there is the Shisha, or water pipe which they can try. One can take the opportunity to safely enjoy the walk through the narrow streets of Khan El-Khalili. We strongly recommend visiting this vivid bazaar. Keep in mind that in open traditional markets, the prices not fixed. Remember to bargain (haggle) to get the best price. Khan El Khalili market is place where art and commerce come together. It gives a unique, remarkable and harmonious experience.

Nearby attractions Information, tours and Online Booking

More of Egypt Fun & Leisure

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
Islamic Art Museum Cairo

Islamic Art Museum Cairo Egypt

Islamic Art Museum Cairo Egypt information, tours, prices, booking

Islamic Art Museum in Cairo, Egypt, indeed is one of the greatest in the world. In fact, the Islamic Art Museum has an exceptional collection of rare woodwork and plaster artifacts. Moreover, the museum also has metal, ceramic, glass, crystal, and textile objects of all periods. They are from all over the Islamic world. In fact, the Museum displays about 2,500 artifacts in 25 galleries. It houses more than 102,000 objects rest in storage. The collection includes indeed rare manuscripts of the Qur’an. They have some calligraphy written in silver ink, on pages with elaborate borders. Moreover, the Islamic Art Museum conducted archaeological excavations in Fustat area. Furthermore, it organized many national and international exhibitions.

The museum closed for renovations in 2003, and re-opened 8 years later, in August 2010. The restoration cost was about ten million USD. Khedive Ismail approved to establish a museum of Arab Art in the Courtyard of Baybars mosque. In fact, it not carried out until 1880. It was when Khedive Tawfiq ordered the Ministry of Endowments to set it up. Julius Franz was an Austrian Scholar of Hungarian Descent. Moreover, he also was the Head of the Technical department at the Awqaf. He suggested that the ruined Mosque of Al Hakim to be a provisional seat for the Museum. It was in 1881. A gallery furnished there in the eastern arcade. It consisting of 111 architectural pieces taken from other monuments.

Further details about Islamic Art Museum in Cairo:

In the same year, Khedive Tawfiq approved the “Committee of Arab Antiquities”. Its duties included running the arab museum and providing it with objects. As a result, the arcades of the mosque filled to overflowing. In 1884, a two-storey structure built in the courtyard. It was to house the collection of 900 objects. In 1887 Max Hertz, also Austro-Hungarian, replaced Julius Franz. He began making many changes. He suggested the name of the Museum back then as the gallery of Arab Antiquities. By 1895 the collection numbered to 1,641. The new building became too crowded. That was why he requested the Awqaf to build a larger Museum.

In 1899 the foundations laid for the present larger building in Bab Al-Khalq area of Cairo. In fact, the Islamic Art Museum building designed by Alfonso Manescalo. It completed in 1902 in new Mamluk style. Moreover, the museum upper story housing the National Library. The old museum in Al Hakim demolished in the 1970, during refurbishment of the mosque there. Islamic Art Museum faces Historic Cairo. It has two entrances. One on the north-eastern side and the other on the south-eastern side. A beautiful garden with a fountain once led to the first entrance but later removed. The entrance on Port Said Street features a luxurious facade. It is rich with decorations and recesses. They inspired by Islamic architecture in Egypt from various periods.

More details about Museum of Islamic Art, Cairo:

Islamic Art Museum is a two-stores building. The lower one contains the exhibition halls. The upper floor contains the general stores. The basement contains a store connected with the Restoration Section. On January 24th, 2014 a car bomb attack targeting the Cairo police headquarters. It caused considerable damage to the Museum. In fact, it destroyed many artifacts. It estimated that 20-30% of the artifacts will need restoration. The blast also damaged the buildings facade. It erased intricate designs in the Islamic style. The Egyptian National Library and Archives in the same building also affected.

[/vc_row]

More of Islamic Egypt

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo Egypt

Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo Egypt

Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo Egypt information, tours, prices, booking

Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo is indeed the oldest intact functioning Islamic monument in Cairo. Moreover, it is the third mosque which constructed for the whole community. Furthermore, it is for the congregation which joined together for the Friday noon prayer. Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo indeed is a rare example which preserved of the art. Moreover, it is also an architecture of the classical period of Islam. Ahmed Ibn Tulun born about 835 A.D. He was one of the Turkish commanders in Samarra in Iraq. Moreover, he received his military and theological training in Samarra and Tarsus. His intelligence and courage attracted the attention of the Khalif. In 868, he made proxy for his step-father Bakabak’s governorship of Egypt. He established himself as an independent ruler for the Province. An abortive attempt to remove him encouraged Ahmed to attach Syria.

Ahmed Ibn Tulun founded a new Capital called Alqatai around the hill of Gabal Yashkur. It is to the North East of Al Fustat, razing the Christian and the Jewish cemetery. The site chosen for his mosque was an outcrop of rock which called Gabal Yashkur. Indeed, Ibn Tulun Mosque Cairo is one of the biggest mosques in Egypt. The mosque together with the ziyada occupie an area of 6.5 acres. In fact, it is square in shape, measures 162 meter in length and 161 meter in width. Moreover, the area which dedicated for the prayer is rectangular in shape measures about 137 x 118 meter. Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo designed as open court or central square Sahn (about 92 m) Surrounded by four riwaqs. The riwaq of the qibla contains five arcades. Each of the other riwaqs consists of two arcades.

Further details about Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo:

Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo surrounded by Ziyadas ( extension) on three sides. In fact, Ziyada is an enclosed space or precinct. It was to separate the mosque from the markets. It is also to protect the mosque and the prayers from the noise of the street. Moreover, outside Ibn Tulun Mosque Cairo on the Qibla wall, there was a palace. It called Dar El Imarah which means house of the government. In fcat, it destroyed now. Its entrance is near to the Mihrab. Ahmed Ibn Tulun used it to enter to the mosque before leading the prayer. Furthermore, Ibn Tulun Mosque Cairo has 19 doors on 3 sides. Each door corresponding to another door in the ziyadas. There are another three doors which cut in the wall of the quibla. The lintels composed of palm-trunks. They boxed with wood and above a releasing arch.

In fact, some of these doors still keep their original carving. On the right hand central Pier of the third arcade from the Sahn is the Foundation Slate. In fact, it includes the Foundation Inscription. Moreover, it is a rectangular slab of marble ( 1,6 m X 97 cm) which written in Kufic inscription. It contains the verse of El Kursi ( Ayet El Kursi) from the Koran. Furthermore, it contains also the date of 265 A.H. The walls of Ibn Tulun mosque and the Ziyada crowned with crenelation. They are like the paper which cut-outs of human figures with linked arms. Ibn Tulun mosque is square in shape, each of its sides measures about 92 m. The original courtyard not paved. It filled with pebbles as it is today. It is because this space intended for prayer. The Fawarah in the middle of the Sahn is the third one.

More details about the mosque of Ibn Tulun in Cairo:

The first one was the original which built by Ahmed Ibn Tulun. It gilded and stood on ten columns of marble. The second one was Al Aziz. In fact, it now destroyed. The actual one is the third which built by Sultan Lagin Al Mansoury. It is among some other works he did for Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo. Moreover, it is 14 x 12 meter and it is twenty meter in height. This Fawarah built by the architect Ibn Al Roumyyah. It has a Mameluk design. Moreover, it stands on 4 pointed arches. The zone of transition stepped corners with a window in the uppermost step. Furthermore, three windows of three lights are on each side. The dome is plain without a drum and raised on squinch. The arcades around the courtyard are deeper on the quibla Riwaq. Moreover, the sanctuary side formed by pointed Arches on brick Piers.

Rosettes and windows form a continuous and simple decoration. Moreover, these arcades supported by piers. Unlike columns. These Piers are rectangular. In fact, they decorated with four masonry-engaged columns. Their capitals have the same bell shape as the bases and both plastered and carved. Furthermore, all the arcades had soffits of curved stucco. They are like those which have restored in the Southern arcade. The Arches of the arcades pointed. They outlined with an edge of carved stucco. They spring from oblong supports rounded at the corners by pilasters or engaged columns. The Qibla Riwak of Ibn Tulun mosque includes 5 aisles deeper than the others. They are parallel to the Prayer niche ( the Mihrab). Each of the other riwaq includes just 2 aisles . This Riwaq actually has 6 prayer niches or mihrabs.

Further details about Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo:

The main Mihrab is in the middle of the Qibla wall. It is the tallest and the only concave one. The others are flat. It consists of a double pointed arched recess flanked by a pair Byzantine style marble. Its stucco molding and the 2 stucco bosses on each side of the arch are original. The interior decorated in Mameluk style made by the sultan Lajin. The upper decoration of painted wood. Strips of poly-chrome marble, above which is a band of Naskhi inscription. It is in black mosaic on a gold background containing the shahada. The Dikka of the Mouballegh (the bench of the Mouballegh) situated in Riwaq. Al Qibla near the courtyard. It is a wide bench of marble columns which used for communicating the words of the Imam during the prayer.

The ceiling of Ibn Tulun mosque in Cairo, composed of Palm logs boxed in wooden panels. Below the ceiling there are a long band of inscription on sycamore wood. It runs around the whole mosque. It contains verses from the Koran. This frieze is 2 Km in length and it is calculate one fifteenth of the whole holly book. There is a legend that the boards for this inscription left over from the Noah’s Ark. The upper part of Ibn Tulun mosque Cairo wall pierced with pointed arch windows. They flanked with colonnades. The windows alternate on the outside wall within blind niches with a shell conch. There are 128 windows and their arrangements on the walls. They are independent of the arches so that not every arch has a centered window.

More details about Ibn Tulun mosque in Cairo:

The functions of these arched windows of the arched windows are providing light. They also reduce the weight carried by the arches. Creswell attributes only 4 of the windows stucco grills to the Tulunide Period. These of the plain geometrical design. The rest displaying a large variety of more complicated geometrical patterns. They date back to the Fatimide and the Mameluk Periods. The minaret stands on the North side of the Ziyada. A door leads to it. It is an unusual stone structure with an outer staircase and a Mameluk top of the type. In fact, it named Mabkhara. This minaret caused controversy among the Cairo’s Architectural historians. We don’t have enough sources to clear this point or determine its date.

Nearby attractions Information, tours and Online Booking

More of Islamic Egypt

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
Beshtak Palace Cairo

Beshtak Palace Cairo Egypt

Information about Beshtak Palace Cairo, tours, Booking

Beshtak Palace Cairo situated on the Muizz Avenue in Cairo. The palace of Beshtak is near to Abdel Rahamn Katkhuda Sabil. In fact, it constructed by Prince Beshtak Al Nasiri in 1334. Beshtak Palace Cairo is a structure and Islamic museum in Cairo. It signifies Arabic architecture in the historic period of time in Egypt. Moreover, it has uncommon windows covered with Mashrabiya. The 2nd floor chambers have sharp arches. They also feature stained-glass home windows.

The Beshtak Palace Cairo is almost complete in its actual shape. Furthermore, it has two stories, hall, a compact courtyard and built-in stables. The palace has indeed a wonderful entrance opening onto a side avenue. The long facade acceded with lots of windows. In fact, it opens on the hubbub lane in ancient Cairo. In fact, the palace permitted to re-open in some month’s time. Yet it’s practical to view the courtyard and also the outer facade through the main road.

The Palace of Beshtak is among the great historical sites in Cairo to check out. It is if you’re looking to be familiar with Egyptian culture and history. In fact, Egypt is famous for its plenty of mosques and historic sites. It’s also a great place to but traditional Egyptian souvenirs and additionally handicrafts. Entry gained from the alleyway on the north-side, 2nd entrance. In fact, the Palace implemented only for receptions. Moreover, here are no guest rooms. It is usually open-air and huge pillars. They hold roofing on the many sitting areas. The rooms can found only at the sides of the building.

Further details about Beshtak Palace Cairo:

In fact, Bestak Palace is near to Al Salih Ayyub complex. The complex located on the famous Moezz Street in Cairo. It dates back to the mid-13th century. In fact, named after its builder, Al Salih Najm Al Din Ayyub. He reigned over Egypt from 1240 till 1249. Moreover, he was last Ayyubid sultan of Egypt. He died defending Egypt against the Crusader attack that led by Louis IX. Furthermore, he was the grandson of the more famous Salah Al Din Ayyub. In fact, he known in the West as Saladdin. Before his death, he built a rather unique school between 1242 and 1244. He then built a mausoleum.

Nearby attractions Information, tours and Online Booking

More of Islamic Egypt

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
Gayer Anderson museum Cairo

Gayer Anderson Museum Cairo Egypt

Gayer Anderson Museum Cairo information, tours, prices, booking

Gayer Anderson museum in Cairo also called Beit El Kertlia. In fact, Gayer Anderson Museum built in Cairo in 1631 by one of the wealthy men. He used it to live in the Egyptian capital. His name is Mohamed Ibn Hah Salem Ibn Gelmam. In fact, the museum indeed is one of the most marvelous historical structures in Egypt. Many of rich families lived in Gayer Anderson museum in Cairo. They were one after another. It was until a lady from Crete Island bought the house to live in it. It was why the house named El Kertlia house or the house of people from Crete. In fact, the museum attached to the Eastern section of Ibn Tulun mosque. Moreover, the museum consists of two historical houses. They facing each other. They both constructed in the Ottoman period.

The first house, Kertlia house, constructed in 1631. The other one built by Abdel Kader El Haddad in 1540. The two houses connected together with a passageway. Egyptian authorities have granted Gayer Anderson the two houses as a house to live in. It was in 1935. Gayer Anderson was a British officer. He collected a large selection of furniture, carpets and many other eastern objects. He also collected many Egyptian handcrafts. In 1942, Gayer Anderson had to leave Egypt because of his illness. The Egyptian government allowed the people to visit the house and view his collection. It was before the whole complex transformed to a museum.

Further details about Gayer Anderson Museum in Cairo:

Gayer Anderson museum Complex host a Sabil. It offers fresh water to the public. This feature is difficult to find among historical houses in Egypt. Sabil is a religious structure which is in a mosque or a mausoleum. It is to provide people with their needs of water. Finding a Sabil within a residential house is rare in the Islamic architecture. The Sabil of the Gayer Anderson museum located in the right hand side section of the ground floor. It is with a window, opens on the street. It is from which the servant working in the Sabil used to give the water to the people. The room of the Sabil made out of stones. The ceiling contains some remarkable geometric decorations with bright colors.

The Sahn or the open courtyard of Gayer Anderson museum has a semi irregular shape. It is with a white marble fountain in the middle. In fact, the Sahn is the heart of the house with all the floors. Moreover, the sections of the house open at the Sahn. They don’t open towards the exterior of the house. This architectural design of Gayer Anderson museum Cairo was common for many reasons. The first is to provide a sense of privacy especially to the ladies of the house. The second is to protect the house against dust and dirt making the air inside the house cleaner and fresher.

More details the Museum of Gayer Anderson Cairo:

All over the surface area of the Sahn, there are many pots that take the shape of barrels. They based upon white marble basins. It is where the water coming from the fountain to provide fresh water for the people living in the house. Moreover, Gayer Anderson museum has rooms and halls to storage grains and foods. They are on the ground floor. At the back of the Shan, there is a horse stable. It hosts only a few horses. The staircase which leads to the second floor of Gayer Anderson museum is in the horse stable. The most dominating feature of the second floor is what called the Maqa’ad. In fact, it is a wide space overlooking the Sahn of the house. The word “Maqa’ad” means the sitting area. It was where the people who lived in the house used to sit, especially men.

Moreover, the ceiling of the Maqa’ad is rather remarkable. It is with many marvelous plants and geometric golden decorations. Furthermore, there are also some shelves which decorated all around the Maqa’ad. In fact, this was where Anderson used to keep his glass items collection which he was fond of. Many of the architectural features of Gayer Anderson museum can viewed from the Maqa’ad. It is including the decorated walls of the house that are distinctive with their white and red colors. The marvelous Mashrabeya screens of Gayer Anderson museum overlooks the Sahn. It can also admired from the Maqa’ad.

Further details about Gayer Anderson Museum in Cairo:

The other section of the second floor of the museum is the Salamlek. In fact, it is the hall where the men used to meet. The hall divided into three sections. It is the same as many other historical houses which date back to the Mamluk and the Ottoman periods. Moreover, there are two galleries surrounding the main chamber of the hall. Each gallery has many created Mashrabeya screens. The hall has many colorful pillows and wonderful wooden ashtrays. They decorated with pearl and ivory. The displays in the Salamlek hall include a collection of pistols. They date back to the Ottoman era with their distinctive accurate ornaments. There is also a collection of swords from different sizes and shapes.

The sides of ceiling of the Salamlek hall have remarkable decorations. They are with geometrical patterns and Arabic calligraphy. They include many pieces of poetry and different phrases from famous literature works. The ceiling itself is rich with its dark brown wood geometrical patterns decorations. In the middle of the Salamlek hall there is a large copper tray. It dates back to the Ottoman period. It used by the owner of the house to offer his guests drinks and snacks. There is also a white marble shelve where they used to put the Kolla. Kolla is the traditional Egyptian pottery water container.

More details about Gayer Anderson Museum in Cairo:

Large number of exhibits and antiques not present here during the days of Gayer Anderson. In fact, they put recently when the house modified to become a museum. The Gallery of the photographs and drawings host indeed a rare collection. It features fishing, love, celebration, chanting, wildlife, flowers and birds’ scenes. The portraits in this hall are quite notable for their special attention to details and sizes. Haramlek section is the section specified for the ladies of the house. This section featured with its beautiful Mashrabeya screens. They overlook almost every section of the house, the lanes and streets outside the house as well.

In fact, the Mashrabeya screens used by women to look over the streets. It not seen from outside. he Haramlek hall also feature many shelves and cupboards. They have wonderful colors that created in the Persian style. Moreover, the main staircase of Gayer Anderson museum leads to the roof. The roof used to function as a seating area for the women in the summer. There are many basins of water of different sizes which located in various locations in the roof for people. They used to wash their hands and faces in the summer.

Further details about Gayer Anderson Museum in Cairo:

Gayer Anderson museum has Persian style bedroom of the owner of the house. The room has a magnificent bed decorated with ivory and pearl. There are also some candles holders and paintings. They make the room even more attractive to the eye. Gayer Anderson museum has Turkish hall. The hall has large chair which has a crown on top. In fact, it was a royal hall. Moreover, it also contains some pretty portraits of Mohamed Ali and Khedive Saied. Furthermore, there are many items which put on display in this room. They include large statue of Hatshepsut and a black statue of the ancient Egyptian cat god. They also include Bastet and many glassware and pottery.

The celebration hall of Gayer Anderson museum indeed is one of the most luxurious halls. The hall is around 15 square meters in surface area. It divided into two galleries. The first featured with its wonderful throne chair. It decorated with ivory and pearl. The middle section of this hall has a decorated white marble fountain. The floor of the hall ornamented with different light colors of marble. In fact, visiting the Gayer Anderson museum recommended. It is for history and Islamic architecture fans. Most of the features of Gayer Anderson museum remaining in a good condition. They make the visit to the museum an enjoyable experience. It is as if you travel in time to the period of the Ottomans.

Nearby attractions Information, tours and Online Booking

More of Islamic Egypt

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo

Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo Egypt

Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo information, tours, booking

Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo indeed has a unique location. It gives its vicinity to The Citadel. Moreover, its construction is on a high hill. In fact, Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo has a panoramic view of the Citadel square. It also has a panoramic view of Sultan Hassan mosque and Al Rifai Mosque. Gawhar Al Lala mosque reached through a stepped passageway. It has a spacious terrace in front where one can get a high glimpse of the Citadel Square. Furthermore, Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo can reached from the Citadel Square through a stepped street behind Al Rifai Mosque. Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo lies quite close to Qanibay Amir Akhur mosque. It built in 1430 AC and considered small at only 2,000 square feet. This 15th century Mamluk mosque built by Amir Gawhar Al Lala. He was a civil servant in the palace of Sultan Barsbay.

Al Lala was a title which given to the post of the private tutors of the sons of a Sultan. During Mamluk era, the wall over the Citadel square embellished with dazzling palaces. Mosques reflecting the grandeur and commemorating the lives of the Sultans. Citadel Square is one of the oldest squares in modern Cairo. During the Ayyubid rule, it became the city center of gravity. It was where the leaders of Egypt ruled the country. During the Mamluk era, construction continued within the Citadel walls. It also was around the square with the houses of Sultan Baybars amirs and successors. The horse and armorers markets or Suqs also moved to this area in the vicinity of Sultan Hassan mosque.

Further details abou Gawhar Al Lala mosque in Cairo:

Around Cairo Citadel, many religious buildings also erected and included Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo. In fact, Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo was a freed slave. He was in service to the son of Barsbay who succeeded his father for three months. Gawhar honored by the prince. He fell from his high ranks and thrown in prison where he died as a result of an epileptic fit. Moreover, he known for his kind heart and his good deeds. He much appreciated by many of his students. It was even during the times of his imprisonment. Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo planned like the lines of the cruciform madrasas. It was popular at the time of the Circassian Mamluks in the 9th till 15th century. It has decorative features and elements of the mid-Mamluk period.

The main entrance of Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo flanked by stone benches. It called Maksala and leads to a Derka. In fact, it is a rectangular hallway, from which a bent passageway. It takes one through a secondary door leading to the Sahn or covered courtyard of the mosque. The wooden ceiling of the passageway decorated with fine paintings. The Sahn of Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo decorated with colored marble and with attractive marble panels on the floors. It adorned by a decorated yet a bit faded wooden lantern. Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo has two side Iwans and two main Iwans. The largest being that of the Qibla. It paneled in slabs of cool marble and soft colors. The Minbar, or pulpit, might seem different from other Minbars of this period.

More details about the mosque of Gawhar Al Lala in Cairo:

The inlay polygonal inserts are missing and have replaced with plain forms. These alterations date back to the time of its restoration. The restoration made by the French Comite in the 1980s. There is a building next to Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo. This building has a sabil-kuttab and a mausoleum. Gawhar Al Lala buried in this mausoleum. There are also quarters. They used as storerooms and lodgings for the students and civil servants. The main entrance in the center of the southwest facade overlooks Darb Al Labbana Street. The sabil with its wall built of wood. It located in the southern section of the structure. It is of a type of Sabil that has corner columns. The kuttab located above the Sabil. A carved wooden Mashrabeyya surrounds the balcony of the kuttab.

The minaret of Gawhar Al Lala rises above the Sabil facade. It built in the Knob style and called Al Qulla style. Moreover, it is with a single balcony. The mausoleum dome, where the tomb of Al Gawhar found, situated on the western corner. The fine old door leads to the mausoleum through the mosque. It made of wood. It distinguished by an overlay of fine and detailed copper decoration. Today, there is a gallery in the northwest Iwan. It has draped so that women may pray there. Gawhar Al Lala mosque Cairo still in use and frequented by many visitors. A caretaker will show one around the mosque and mausoleum. The ablution area that stands today is a recent addition. No sign of the old ablution area remains.

Nearby attractions Information, tours and Online Booking

More of Islamic Egypt

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
El Seheimy house Cairo (Beit El Sehemiy) Cairo Egypt

El Seheimy House Cairo Egypt

El Seheimy House Cairo (Beit El Seheimy) information, tours, booking

El Seheimy house Cairo built by Abdel Wahab El Tablawy in 1648. The house purchased in 1796 by Sheikh Ahmed Al Suhaimi. He extended it by integrating several of the adjacent houses. Nowadays El Seheimy house Cairo is the best example of a rich private house. It is especially after its restoration process. El Seheimy house Cairo demonstrates a lot of arts in this period. The period and how people used to live in the Ottoman period. El Seheimy house Cairo is the first building on the left hand side of Darb El Asafar. In fact, Darb El Asafar is a narrow corridor in Fatimid, Cairo. From the outside, the building seems to be in a good state. El Seheimy house Cairo restored in 1997. It was under the auspices of the Arab Fund for Economic Development.

Many mashrabeya windows, which can seen from outside the house. Once you enter El Seheimy house Cairo you are inside the sahn of the house. The Sahn is an interior open space in the middle of the house courtyard. It is usually a rectangular or square shape. It used to gain fresh air in the house. In the morning some simple activities once took place in the sahn. In the middle of this open hall, there is a small and healthy garden full of small trees and palms. El Seheimy house built around this area and many brown mashrabeya windows can be seen all around it. At the end of this hall, there is a place for sitting beside some windows. It is where residents of the house would relax in the summer.

Further details about Beit El Seheimy in Cairo:

After entering the doorway of El Seheimy house Cairo, you will find many rooms with huge wooden doors. They used for servants to stay in and cook or do anything needed in the house. One of the rooms to the left had a fascinating mashrabeya screen with small windows. This is to enable the people inside the room to view the Sahn. At the end of this corridor there is the first guest room or salamlek. It used by El Seheimy to welcome his male guests. To the right, there is a sitting area with a small Mashrabeya screen. This hall is a good example of the salamlek, or public place, as opposed to the haremlek. Most of the Salamlek area is on the ground floor. The haremlek is on the upper floor.

In the Islamic culture, house were “Sakan”. This word derived from “Sekoon” which means quietness and privacy. This notion well respected during the archaic Islamic period. The next hall is the summer salamlek guest room. It built at the end of the corridor and overlooks the street. This is to enjoy the cool air during the summer. Most of the spaces in El Seheimy house Cairo are not designed functionality. They designed but basing on climatic considerations. This hall has one of the most remarkable mashrabeya screens in El Seheimy house Cairo. It overlooks on the street. It is a big screen with three different decorative shapes and stained glass at the top of the screen. People would sit on the pillows on the floor and chat in the summer.

More details about El Seheimy House Cairo:

There are also the wooden brown cupboards all around just like the first guest room. In the second floor of El Seheimy house Cairo, you will find some balconies. One significant aspect of thess balconies is the Islamic decorations on the walls. There are many Qur’an verses around the balconies which written in a gold color with a brown background. The balcony is also a wonderful place to view the mashrabeya windows of El Seheimy house Cairo. It is from outside, and view the open air hall. In fact, the maq’ad of El Seheimy house Cairo is a rectangular or square room . It is where the owner of the house would sit with his family, sons, daughters and close friends. This more private space is like any other section of the house.

The room is full of brown cupboards and another amazing mashrabeya screen. It has also tables in the middle and sofas all around. Al Suhaimi House is famous for it’s many halls, especially the haremlek. This hall has high and pretty decorated ceiling. It allows the warmer air to rise. And then to be swept away by the north facing maq’ad (wind scoops) in the upper walls. It catches the prevailing breezes and circulated the cool air throughout the house. There is also the charming wooden carved dome of the hall. The ceilings of these houses are usually interesting. It makes the ceilings we live in these days seem boring and depressing. The ceilings in the past were works of art.

Further details about the house of El Seheimy Cairo:

The bathroom section is the most interesting place in El Seheimy house Cairo. It divided into three sections. The first section is the cold water section. It is a small room with a wooden cupboard inside. It is where they used to keep the cold water in a huge container. This room has no ceiling so that the gold wind could come and cool down the water in the cupboard. The second section of the bathroom is the massage section. It is also a small room with only a big wooden bed to the right. Moreover, it has the most amazing ceiling you will ever see. It has star shaped openings in it which covered with blue, orange, and white glass. The sun light enters the room through these openings. When enters, it looks like the stars in the sky on a clear night.

You can see massage halls in five stars hotels and in health clubs all over Egypt. But nothing like this room. Having a massage in this room while looking at the sky would be like gazing into heaven. The third section of the bathroom is the hot water section. It has the same amazing ceiling as the massage room. In the middle, there is a water tap. Moreover, to the right there is a big container that used for keeping hot water. There is also a cupboard behind the tap that used to keep the bathing items. They used to let the hot water fall on the floor. The three small openings in the wall enabled the water flow out of the room.

More details about the house of El Seheimy Cairo:

There is also a toilet section, which is like most of the “local” toilets. We still have in some places in Egypt. It is just a small hall in the ground. In fact, it takes the waste into pipes and out of El Seheimy house Cairo. Another interesting section in the house which is the main rest and sleeping room of El Seheimy and his wife. Some people call this room the blue hall because of its many blue decorations. On the right hand side, there is a sitting area with pillows. Besides the many mashrabeya screens spread around the room. The room ornamented with the most elegant blue tiles on the walls. This room suited to a king, with all its the marvelous decorations.

Even the mashrabeya screens in This room, in particular, was for women. No men, other than sons and the father, allowed inside. In the middle, there is a table which used for drinking coffee. The coffee jar and mugs are still there. There are also a lot of blue and decorated plates in the room. They are atop the many brown wooden cupboards that once again fill this room. There are also some plates which actually used for food and not just decoration. The ceiling designed in a Persian style, which makes it look as though there are steps above one’s head. It is like the sleeping room in the Gayer Anderson Museum.

Further details about the house of El Seheimy Cairo:

There are many old lanterns in the room, hanging from the high ceiling. One of them is unique, looking like a tower of lights. There is also a small room that one may enter from the main bedroom of El Seheimy house Cairo. This room only contains two strange objects. There is an interesting myth. If a woman wants to become pregnant, she would circle these two objects seven times. And then God will send her a baby. It indeed is a strange concept. In fact,  Egypt in the 17th century had a lot of strange myths and legends.

Nearby attractions Information, tours and Online Booking

More of Islamic Egypt

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
Cairo Citadel

Cairo Citadel Egypt

Information about Cairo Citadel Cairo Egypt, tours and Online Booking

Cairo Citadel indeed is one of Cairo’s most popular tourist attractions. It located on a spur of limestone that detached from its parent Moqattam Hills by quarrying. Moreover, Cairo Citadel is one of the world’s greatest monuments to medieval warfare. In fact, it is a visible landmark on Cairo’s eastern skyline. When viewed from the back side, Cairo Citadel reveals a medieval character. The area where Cairo Citadel located now began it’s life as the “Dome of the Wind”. It is a pavilion which created in 810 by Hatim Ibn Hartama, who was then governor. Indeed this area well known for its cool breeze. In fact, the early governors didn’t realize its strategic importance. However, they used the pavilion for its view of Cairo.

During 1176 and 1183 Salah El Din fortified the area to protect Cairo from Crusaders attacks. Since then, it never been without a military garrison. In fact, it served as both a fortress and a royal city. Legend has it that Salah El Din chose the site for its healthy air. The story goes that he hung pieces of meat up all around Cairo. Everywhere in Cairo the meat spoiled within a day. At Cairo Citadel area, it remained fresh for several days. This location provides a strategic advantage to dominate Cairo and to defend outside attackers. Salah El Din came from Syria. It is where each town had some sort of fortress to act as a stronghold for the local ruler. It was natural that he would carry this custom to Egypt.

Further details about Cairo Citadel:

Moreover, Salah El Din used the most modern fortress building techniques to construct Cairo Citadel. Great, round towers built protruding from the walls. The defenders could direct flank fire on those who might scale the walls. In fact, the walls themselves were ten meters (30 ft) high and three meters (10 ft) thick. The Bir Yusuf (Salah El Din’s Well) dug to supply the occupants of the fortress with drinking water. Some 87 meters (285 ft) deep, it cut though solid rock down to the water table. It is not a shaft. There is a ramp large enough. Animals could descend into the well to power the machinery which lifts the water. The well closed to tourists these days.

After the death of Salah al-Din, his nephew, Al Kamel, reinforced the Cairo Citadel. It was by enlarging several of the towers. He encased the Burg al-Haddad (Blacksmith’s Tower) and the Burgar Ramla (Sand Tower). Moreover, he made them three times larger. These two towers controlled the narrow pass between Cairo Citadel and the Muqattam hills. Al Kamel also built some great keeps (towers) around the perimeter of the walls. Three of them can still seen overlooking Cairo Citadel parking area. These massive structures were square, up to 25 meters (80 ft) tall and 30 meters (100 ft) wide. In 1218, upon the death of Al Kamel’s father, Sultan Al Kamel moved his house to Cairo Citadel. It is where he built his palace in what is now the Southern Enclosure.

More details about Saladin Citadel Cairo:

In fact, the palace no longer exits. It was the seat of government for the Country of Egypt until the construction of the Abdeen Palace. Mumluks overthrew the Ayyubid rulers in 1250. Their sultan Baybars Al Bunduqdari (1260-77) moved into Al Kamel’s palace. Moreover, he isolated the palace compound by building a wall. It divided the fortress into two separate enclosures. They linked by the Bab (gate) Al Qullah. The area where the palace once stood referred to as the Southern Enclosure. The larger part of Cairo Citadel proper referred to the Northern Enclosure. Al Nasser Muhammad interested with this era. In fact, he ruled during three separate periods (1294-1295, 1299-1309 and 1310-1341). Moreover, he tore down most of the earlier buildings in the Southern Enclosure. He replaced them with grander structures.

Unfortunately, the only remaining facility built by him is the Al Nasser Mohammad Mosque. In fact, it begun in 1318, finished in 1355 and located near the enclosure gate. He built a great Hall of Justice with a grand and green dome. It towered above the other structures in the Southern Enclosure. Beside it built the Qasr Al Ablaq (Striped Palace) with its black and yellow marble. This palace, used for official ceremonies and conducting affairs of state. Moreover, it had a staircase leading down to the Lower Enclosure and the Royal Stables. It is where An-Nasir kept 4,800 horses. The Ottomans controlled Egypt between 1517 and the early 20th century. Much of what we see of Cairo Citadel actually dates back to this period.

Further details about Salah El Din Citadel Cairo:

The Lower Enclosure where the stables of Al Nasser known as Al Azeb. It was because some of the Ottoman soldiers, known as the Aazab regiments. These soldiers not allowed to wed until they retired. The word Aazab means bachelor. The Ottomans rebuilt the wall which separates the Northern and Southern Enclosures. It was as well as the Bab Al Quallah. Moreover, they also built the largest tower in today’s Citadel. It is Burg Al Muqattam which rises above the entrance to Cairo Citadel off Salah Salem Highway. In fact, this tower is 25 meters (80 ft) tall and has a diameter of 24 meters (79 ft). In 1754 the Ottomans rebuilt the walls of the Lower Enclosure. He also added a fortified gate called the Bab El Azab.

On the late 16th century, the strict military structure for the Ottoman soldiers deteriorated. During this period, the Aazab troops began to marry. They even allowed to build their own houses within the fortress. By the mid 17th century, Cairo Citadel became an enclosed residential district. Moreover, it became with private shops and other commercial enterprises. It was besides to public baths and a maze of small streets. The Ottoman Mohammad Ali Pasha came to power in 1805. He was indeed one of the great builders of Modern Egypt. Moreover, he was responsible for considerable alteration and building within Cairo Citadel. He rebuilt much of the outer walls and replaced many of the decaying interior buildings. Furthermore, he also reversed the roles of the Northern and Southern Enclosures.

More details about Cairo Citadel:

Moreover, he made the Northern Enclosure his private domain. The Southern Enclosure opened to the public. Mohammad Ali Mosque built in the style called Ottoman Baroque. In fact, it imitates the great religious mosques of Istanbul, today dominates the Southern Enclosure. South of the Mosque in the Hawsh is the Gawhara Palace. Gawhara means jewel. This structure built between 1811 and 1814. Moreover, it housed the Egyptian government until it later moved to the Abdeen Palace. Today there is also the National Police Museum at Cairo Citadel. It built over the site of the Mamluk Striped Palace just opposite the Mosque of Al Nasir Muhammad. Moreover, it has displays of law enforcement dating back to the dynastic period.

In 1983 a hall from the Striped Palace discovered. It buried deep beneath rubble, and can be seen at the southern end of this terrace. The terrace also provides a wonderful view of Cairo. Through Bab Al Qullah in the Northern Enclosure one finds Mohammad Ali’s Harim Palace. The palace built in the same Ottoman style as the Jewel Palace. The statue in front is of Ibrahim Pasha by Charles Cordier. The Palace served as a Family house for the Khedive. It was until the government moved to Abdeen Palace. Moreover, it was a military hospital during the British occupation. It only returned to Egyptian control after World War II. Since 1949, it is the Military Museum of Egypt In fact, it founded by King Farouk. The Museum has many artifacts illustrating warfare in Egypt.

Further details about Cairo Citadel:

One of the most interesting attractions is indeed the Summer Room. This room contains an elaborate system of marble fountains and basins. It also has channels meant as a cooling system, and is the last such example in Cairo. In the livery court behind the carriage gate of the museum, there is a statue of Sulayman Pasha. The satatue stood in the city center. Just beyond this museum is a small Carriage Museum in what was the British Officer’s mess until 1946. Just behind this museum is the Burg Al Turfah (Masterpiece Tower).

Burg Al Turfah is one of the largest square towers. It built by Al Kamel in 1207. Near the far end of the Northern Enclosure is the Sulayman Pasha Mosque. The mosque was the first Ottoman style mosque built in Egypt and dates back to 1528. In fact, it built to serve the early Ottoman troops. Today Cairo Citadel is one of Egypt main attractions. It is often the most popular non-pharaonic monuments. One may walk through time here, from the medieval era onward. Many other wonderful Islamic structures are nearby. A walk from Cairo Citadel to Khan El Khalili is indeed a delightful experiences.

Nearby attractions Information, tours and Online Booking

More of Islamic Egypt

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
Blue mosque Cairo Aqsunqer mosque

Blue mosque Aqsunqur mosque Cairo Egypt

Information about Blue mosque Cairo (Aqsunqur mosque), tours, Booking

Blue Mosque Cairo also called Aqsunqur Mosque or the Mosque of Ibrahim Agha. In fact, the mosque is one of several “blue Mosques” in the world. In fact, it situated in the Tabbana Quarter in Islamic Cairo. Moreover, it is between Bab Zuweila and the Citadel of Saladin (Cairo Citadel.) Blue Mosque Cairo (Aqsunqur Mosque) also serves as a funerary complex. Furthermore, it contains the mausoleums of its founder Shams Al Din Aqsunqur and his sons. Aqsunqur Mosque also contains number of children of the Bahri Mamluk sultan Al Nasser Muhammad. It also contains Ibrahim Agha Al Mustahfizan tomb. Aqsunqur mosque in Cairo built in 1347. It was on the orders of the prince Shams Al Din Aqsunqur. In fact, it was during the Mamluk Sultanate of Al Muzaffar Hajji.

Aqsunqur was the son-in-law of former sultan Al Nasir Muhammad. He was one of the more prominent emirs of the latter’s court. Al Maqrizi was Medieval Muslim historian. He noted Aqsunqur supervised the entire project and also participated in its actual construction. Being the former governor of Tripoli, he had the mosque built in a Syrian architectural style. It built around the late sultan Al Ashraf Kujuk’s mausoleum. In fact, it constructed in 1341. The mausoleum’s incorporation within the mosque accounts for the irregularity of the building’s structure. Aqsunqur’s grave also located in Blue mosque complex along with those of his sons. A mausoleum for Al Sultan Shaaban’s mother built in 1362. She was one of Al Nasser’s wives and mother of sultan Kamal Shaaban.

Further details about Blue mosque Cairo:

In fact, Blue mosque Cairo was reportedly in poor shape in 15th century. In fact, it was due to the loss of waqf funds from Syria. Waqf is religious endowments. Because of that, Aqsunqur mosque used only for Friday prayers and religious holidays. In 1412 an ablution fountain built in the center of the courtyard. It was by the Mamluk Amir Tughan. In fact, the prince Ibrahim Agha Al Mustahfizan was a general of the Jannisaries. He began a major renovation project for Aqsunqur mosque. It was Between 1652 and 1654 during Ottoman rule. He restored its roof and arcades. Moreover, he added columns to support the mosque’s southern prayer hall. He decorated the building with blue and green tiles. Hence the mosque’s unofficial name as the “Blue Mosque”.

The tiles imported from Constantinople and Damascus. They crafted in the Iznik style with floral motifs. Floral motif are such as cypress trees and vases holding tulips. Ibrahim Agha built his mausoleum and decorated it with marble tiles, in the southern hall. Moreover, it constructed using the typical Mamluk architectural style. It included a mihrab “prayer niche” resembling the mausoleums of Mamluk emirs. It also located in the Blue mosque Cairo or Aqsunqur mosque complex. The Blue Mosque Cairo renamed after its restorer to Ibrahim Agha Mosque. The latter name not used frequently. In 1908 the Blue mosque Cairo restored by the Comité de Conservation des Monuments de l’Art Arabe.

More details about Aqsunqur Mosque Cairo:

The 1992 Cairo earthquake damaged the arches of the mosque’s porticoes. But they reinforced by the Egyptian government in the mid-1990. It was to prevent extra deterioration. Aga Khan Trust for Culture abbreviated as (AKTC). It is with the World Monuments Fund began a restoration project of the Blue mosque Cairo in 2009. The AKTC stated the restoration would finished in 2012. Renovation work would focus structural stability, conservation of the interior and roof repair. Aqsunqur mosque Cairo also became a major destination for tourists who visit Egypt. Blue mosque general layout consists of a large open courtyard (sahn). It enclosed by four arcades (riwaqs.) There are three main entrances with the main portal opening into the western arcade. The latter consists of a large pointed arch with corbels on the front edges of its roof.

Facing the courtyard is the dikka “tribune” from which the Qur’an recited. Kujuk’s mausoleum situated at the portal’s northern side. It has two facades facing the street. Of the two alternative entrances, one opens into the southern arcade. The other opens between the northern and western arcades. Kujuk’s mausoleum predates the Blue mosque. Unlike other tombs in Cairo, it not aligned according to the qibla. Qibla is orientation with Mecca. Instead, it aligned with the street. This structure is the principal feature unique to other major mosques in Egypt. Above the prayer hall sits a brick one-bay dome carried on four brick squinches. A large brick dome supported by brick squinches also situated atop the mausoleum of Kujuk.

Further details about Aqsunqur Mosque Cairo:

The latter has a pendentive below each squinch. Two stone domes located over the mausoleum of Tankizbugha. Another stone dome built above the tomb of Al Sultan Al Sha’ban’s mother. The mosque’s interior also has an irregular layout due to Ibrahim Agha’s renovations. It replaced most of the original cross-vaulting of the arcades with columns. They support a flat wooden ceiling. Qibla wall uses cross-vaults that rest on octagonal-shaped piers. The technique of cross-vaults is a reflection of Islamic Syrian architectural influence. Along with the Mosque of Amir Al Maridani, Aqsunqur Mosque has a hypo-style plan which is rare in Cairo. It associated with Syrian style mosques.

The mihrab (prayer niche that indicates qibla) built in a geometric interlace style. It found in Mamluk architecture. The design used in the mihrab’s spandrels. Other features of the mihrab include the hood’s relief painted carvings. They include fluctuating lintel panels and marble panels, carved marble registers and mosaic inlay. To the right of the mihrab is the marble minbar “pulpit”. The pulpit decorated with light gray and salmon. It is green and plum-colored stone inserts. It is the oldest and one of the handful remaining marble minbars used in a Cairo mosque. The handrail also built of marble. It also has a pattern of rolling leaf and grape clusters carved from the stone.

More details about Aqsunqur Mosque Cairo:

The minaret situated at the southern corner of the facade. They are looking into Bab Al Wazir Street. They are affording a dominant view of the entire southern part of the street. It consists of three stories. The first being circular and plain. The second circular and ribbed. The top story is a bulb resting on a pavilion supported by eight slender stone columns. Its circular shaft is rare among Mamluk minarets. Before its 20th-century restoration, the minaret had four stories. The third story was octagonal and removed during the restoration. The Aqsunqur mosque Cairo minaret featured in several 19th-century illustrations.

Nearby attractions Information, tours and Online Booking

More of Islamic Egypt

More of Egypt attractions

MORE
error: Copyright © www.etltravel.com !