Information about Hanging Church Cairo
Hanging Church is indeed Cairo’s most famous Coptic church. In fact, it first built in the AD 3rd or 4th century. Hanging Church known as El Muallaqa church and it is Virgin Mary’s church. In fact, Hanging Church named for its location above a gatehouse of Babylon Fortress. Babylon Fortress is Roman fortress in Old Cairo. Its nave suspended over a passage. Moreover, The church approached by 29 steps. Early travelers to Cairo dubbed it “the Staircase Church.” The land surface has risen by some 6 meters. It is since the Roman period. The Roman tower buried below ground. It reduces the visual impact of the church’s elevated position. The entrance to Hanging church from the street is through iron gates under a pointed stone arch.
The nineteenth century facade with twin bell towers seen beyond a narrow courtyard. Moreover, it decorated with modern art biblical designs. Up the steps and through the entrance is a further small courtyard. It leads to the eleventh century outer porch. In fact, Hanging Church built in Basilican style. Furthermore, it built during the patriarchate of Isaac (690-92). An earlier church building may have existed elsewhere dating as early as the 3rd or 4th century. An earliest mention of the church was a statement in the biography of the Patriarch Joseph I (831-49). It was when the governor of Egypt visited the establishment. Hanging Church rebuilt by the Pope Abraham (975-78). There are many other restorations including one recently.
The objects of historical interest that were no longer of service went to the Coptic Museum. By the 11th century AC, Hanging church served as the Seat of the Coptic Orthodox Pope of Alexandria. In fact, it based in Alexandria, Egypt. The ruling powers moved away from Alexandria to Cairo. It was after the Arab invasion of Egypt during Pope Christodolos’s. Cairo became the fixed and official house of the Coptic Pope at Hanging Church in Cairo in 1047. Infighting between Abu Serga church and Hanging Church broke out. It was due to that patriarch’s desire. It was to consecrated in the Hanging Church. In fact, Hanging Church has 110 icons. The oldest of them dates back to the 8th century and most of them date back to the 18th century.
Nakhla Al-Baraty Bey gave some of them as gifts in 1898. It was when he was the overseer of the church. The iconostasis of the central sanctuary made of ebony inlaid with ivory. Moreover, it surmounted by icons of Virgin Mary and the Twelve Apostles. The main altar screen is also made of ebony inlaid with ivory. Furthermore, it carved into segments. It shows several Coptic Cross designs that date back to around the 12th or 13th century. Over the altar screen lies a long row of seven large icons, the central one of which is Christ seated on the Throne. Moreover, on one side, the icons of the Virgin Mary, Archangel Gabriel and St. Peter lined up. On the other, icons of St. John the Baptist, Archangel Michael and St. Paul.