Qasr Qarun Fayoum information, tours, prices, booking
Qasr Qarun Fayoum which means Qarun Palace, located near the western edge of Qarun’s Lake in Fayoum Oasis. In fact, Qasr Qarun marks the location of the ancient town of Dionysias. The town now located near the modern village of Qarun. It was the beginning (or end) of the caravan route to the Bahariya Oasis. In fact, it was during ancient times. The town cleared by a Franco-Swiss archaeological team. It was in the 19401 and 1950. An epigraphic survey conducted in 1976. The town spread out north and south and is in ruins save for a few structures that are worth mentioning. The Roman bath is a mere outline which located on the ground. In fact, a few still sand, at least partially. Some even have fresco decorations on the interior walls. The most noteworthy of these located just east of Qasr Qarun.
Thermal baths with frescoes discovered here in 1948. The desert has long since reclaimed them. In fact, Qasr Qarun dedicated to Sobek-Re. In fact, it sometimes referred to as the “Temple of Stone”, located in the middle of the ancient town. The temple dates to between 323 and 330 BC during the Ptolemaic period. In fact, it not dated more precisely due to the absence of inscriptions. Qasr Qarun Fayoum made of blocks of yellow limestone and is substantially complete. The exterior of the temple partially restored by the Egyptian Antiquities Service. The parts of the internal structure reinforced.
Further details about Qasr Qarun Fayoum:
One of the most interesting aspects of Qasr Qarun Fayoum is its roof. It still offers us a sense of the atmosphere that once prevailed in all the temples of the Western Desert. The exterior, minus its damaged portico, looks like a square box, but this is deceiving. The interior of Qasr Qarun Fayoum is a labyrinth of rooms, stairways and corridors. It also is a labyrinth of cellars tunnels and upper rooms of all sizes at different levels. In fact, there are fourteen rooms on either side of central corridor that leads to three chapels.
In fact, there are vestibules, a sanctuary and a few extra chambers. There is also a stairway to the roof which is worth the climb for the splendid view. Moreover, there is also a smaller temple which constructed from mud-brick. In fact, it dates back to the Roman Period. The temple dedicated to the crocodile god, Sobek-Re. The interior contains Ionic columns. Only the square core of the structure survived. In fact, the most of the outlying buildings destroyed now.